David Platt’s ‘Radical’ Challenge

So, I’m reading the book, Radical, by David Platt, and WOW – I’ve been convicted. All along I’ve been taught money, success, a house with a white picket fence, a husband and 2.5 kids was living the American Dream. Isn’t that what we’ve been taught the American Dream is? Well, maybe so, but if it contradicts what God’s Word tells me, then I’ve been going about it all wrong.

Not that I believe that having nice things is a bad thing – but if I ignore the lost and poor of this world to pursue MY selfish hopes and dreams, then I’m not in God’s will. And, especially in this day and time, in His will is where I need, where I LONG to be. I’ve heard people ask questions such as, “How could a loving God allow so many people in this world to go starving, homeless, live in orphanages, etc?” I don’t have that answer, but God’s word does, and it tells us that WE, as His people, are put on this earth to abandon ourselves and live as Christ lived – feeding the hungry and poor and ministering to the lost and broken. Jesus Christ – along with 12 disciples – changed this world in the short time He was here. What if we all, as Christians, followed in His footsteps? How would that impact the world? I believe that’s the answer to those questions I’ve heard.

I’m going to leave you with an excerpt from Radical.

20140408-154644.jpg

God bless, and thanks for reading!

-Jennifer

Leave a comment